What I Learned on Chinese New Year

Trendy in Taiwan

IMG_1902

I was very fortunate this Chinese New Year. Two of my lovely friends invited me into their homes to celebrate with their Taiwanese families and I had the best time ever.

Here are a few things I’ve learned on Chinese New Year:

1. Two New Year’s are better than one. In fact, a week of New Years celebrations is far superior to one sloppy night.

2. It’s really sweet how much time people spend with their families and eating huge meals. Back home, New Years is about getting drunk with your friends and getting kissed at midnight. Here it’s about food, good company, and maybe even a little bit of gambling.

3. You will feel like you’ve gained 10 pounds after consuming Chinese New Year eve’s dinner. And you don’t hate yourself for it. You need to try a bit of every part of the meal, as each dish represents…

View original post 201 more words

Published by: Hales

I am a North Carolina born and raised, fat-queer, feminist, book nerd expat in Asia. Like most foreigners I teach English as my day job. Welcome to my corner of the world.

Categories Seoul South Korea1 Comment

One thought on “What I Learned on Chinese New Year”

Leave a Reply

