Tips for Hiking Solo

Trendy in Taiwan

Now, I’m not one of those people that I would consider “outdoorsy” whatsoever. However, ever since I’ve moved to Taiwan, I’ve discovered that I really enjoy hiking alone. Here are my tips if you ever have the urge to climb a mountain* all by yourself.

*Side-note: These are tips for a hike that would only take you a few hours, or a day at most. There is no way you would catch me sleeping on the side of a mountain, sir. My fear of camping can be addressed at a later date.

Here’s what I bring with me when I plan to go hiking for a few hours.

11650980_10153034548552877_1019077910_n

In my tiny backpack, you will find:

  • a water bottle
  • a compact umbrella (because regular periods of torrential downpour often happen in Taiwan)
  • mosquito repellant
  • a sandwich and/or snack from 7-11
  • headphones
  • my travel-wallet (emergencies will happen, and so will the purchasing of…

View original post 440 more words

Leave a Reply

